Plymouth to remain home of the British Firework Championships until 2029

Plymouth City Council and The Event Services Association (TESA) are set to sign a contract that will see the British Firework Championships remain in Plymouth for a further 12 years.

The spectacular two-day event, which celebrated its 21st anniversary in August, has been held on Plymouth Hoe ever since it began in 1997 and attracts more than 100,000 visitors from all over the country and beyond every year.

It is one of the main highlights of the city’s events calendar, with Plymouth Hoe providing a fantastic viewing point for the best firework companies in the country to wow the crowds with their dazzling displays in the skies above Plymouth Sound.

Councillor Glenn Jordan, Cabinet Member for Culture, said: “Plymouth – Britain’s Ocean City – is the perfect venue for the British Firework Championships. We’ve built a great relationship with TESA and we’re over the moon that they want to hold the event in Plymouth for another 12 years. The event just goes from strength to strength and we’re really looking forward to seeing it grow even further in the build-up to Mayflower 2020 and beyond.”

TESA Director Jim Winship said: "Plymouth provides a brilliant amphitheatre for the Championships and we are delighted that our partnership with the city is to continue for another 12 years. Over the past 21 years the event has grown in popularity and we look forward to continuing to work closely with the Council to further develop the event and provide an annual pyrotechnic spectacle over Plymouth Sound."

The next British Firework Championships will take place on Wednesday 8 and Thursday 9 August 2018.

The decision to approve the contract is being published today and may be subject to call-in for scrutiny.